Days Word

Worthy News and Views

Friling.Springtime.Весна.Song yiddish.

The moving Yiddish song ‘Friling’ (Spring) was written by Shmerke Katsherginski in April 1943, after the death of his wife Barbara in the Vilna ghetto. Set to a tango melody composed by fellow inmate Avrom Brudno, the song’s lyrics tell of the author’s sadness and sense of despair and loneliness …

I roam through the ghetto from alley to alley,
And I cannot find any haven;
My beloved is not here, how can I bear it?
Oh, people, at least say something.
The blue sky illuminates my home
But what benefit do I
Vodpod videos no longer available.

1st collector for Friling.Springtime.Весна.Song yiddish.
Follow my videos on vodpod

October 20, 2010 - Posted by | global

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

